The Best of the Oscars 2017

How many people actually watch The Oscars? Okay, maybe some people actually tune in to see which film won Best Movie or which talented artist will perform on the Oscar stage. However, if you are like me then your favourite part about the Oscars is the red carpet. Nothing excites me more than seeing some of my favourite celebrities grace the red carpet wearing couture designs and I also can’t help that I love red carpet interviews! In the spirit of awards season I have decided that this post is going to be all about some of my absolute FAVOURITE looks this season, so keep reading!

Viola Davis-Armani Privé

in Armani Privé

Where do I begin with Miss Davis? First of all this dress, normally I don’t love a red dress on a red carpet but I am absolutely obsessed with this colour of red on her. The dress fits her like a glove and she is not over-styled for the occasion. Might I add that her hair is flawless, honestly if Viola only had one wig to wear for the rest of her life this should be it. Overall Viola looks clean, sophisticated, and the red helped her stand out during one of the biggest nights of her career. She slayed the Oscars the same way she slayed the red carpet by winning her first Oscar for Best Supporting Actress in the movie Fences. Congratulations Queen!

Hailee Steinfeld-Ralph and Russo

in Ralph & Russo 

This dress is one of those looks that you may have mixed feelings about, I did not. Hailee looks like a breathe of fresh air in this gorgeous dress by Ralph and Russo. The colour, the shape, and the placement of the flower details are all perfect reasons to love this dress. In addition, whoever is part of Hailee Steinfeld’s glam squad needs a raise because her hair and makeup is absolutely stunning and is a perfect match for this dress. This young woman was already killing the game when it comes to acting and singing, now she can add fashionista to her resume!

Emma Stone-Givenchy Couture

in Givenchy Couture

One of my favourite fashion trends is old Hollywood glam, and I love nothing more than when celebrities rock their own modern interpretations of Hollywood glamour just like Emma Stone did at the Oscars. I think what I love most about this dress is the details from the top all the way to the bottom. The dress fits her perfectly and again the hair and make-up team did all the right things because Emma looks so effortlessly beautiful. The Oscars was also a big night for Emma because she went home with the Oscar for Best Actress for her film La La Land, go on girl!

Chris Evans-Salvatore Ferragamo

Who doesn’t love a man in a suit? I had to add a guy in the mix because there are men that actually walk the red carpet too? (I know it’s surprising right?) I think less attention is paid to men at the Oscars because honestly they all wear the same black or white suit. So truthfully my criteria for the best dressed male was simply one that went against the grain, and this year it happened to be Chris Evans! This blue suit is a refreshing change for mens Oscar fashion and for that alone Chris is winning, plus he got that fresh cut and it also helps that he is incredibly good looking.

Janelle Monae– Elie Saab Couture

in Elie Saab Couture, Forevermark Diamonds and a Jennifer Behr crown

Best dressed of the night goes to….JANELLE MONAE! I could probably write a short essay about why I am obsessed with this look, but I’ll try to keep it short. The details on the dress, the play of dimension, the colour, the fit, the styling, hair, makeup, oh my goodness the list goes on. Eli Saab really outdid himself when he created this showstopping dress, which seems like it was made with Janelle in mind. This year has been an amazing year for Janelle Monae, she transitioned from music to starring in two critically acclaimed films Hidden Figures and Moonlight. This years Oscars was Monae’s first time attending the event and she may not have been nominated, but as for the red carpet she came, she saw, and she conquered.

If you want to see more of the amazing dresses that walked the Oscar red carpet click here

Leave a Reply

